Hippies

By 1970, the hippie scene was faltering, a victim of both inner contradictions and external forces. The Vietnam war resistance, psychedelic drugs, sexual openness, the freedom of the commune – it seemed that everything about the 1960s could be incredibly liberating or wildly destructive. Against this backdrop, Jazmine, Ziggy, Ragman and a coterie of hippies … More Hippies

The Ruby In The Smoke

If you’ve not yet met Sally Lockhart, prepare to be bowled over. The beautiful, smart 16-year-old can ride like a Cossack and shoot like a demon – and now she’s braving terrible danger to hunt down her father’s killer! Her journey will take her from the grimy streets of London to a Maharajah’s Indian palace … More The Ruby In The Smoke

Galveston: 1900 Indignities: The Arrangement

The epic journey of Catherine Merit Matthews continues in N. E. Brown’s fifth book of her Galveston, 1900, Indignities series. Twenty-six year old Catherine Merit Matthews is beautiful, confident, newly married, and mother to four children. Although life appears to be perfect, old memories and scars from the past continue to haunt her. Her new … More Galveston: 1900 Indignities: The Arrangement

The Murmur of Masks

Anything Can Happen at a Masquerade – Just Ask Olivia Eighteen-year-old Olivia’s naval captain father is ‘somewhere at sea’ fighting the French when her mother dies suddenly, leaving her daughter homeless. Desperately in need of security and safety, a distraught Olivia accepts Jack Rembleton’s offer of a marriage of convenience, hoping that love will grow … More The Murmur of Masks

Echoes of Time

The fifth of The Guernsey Novels, Echoes of Time is a dual-time story set in the German Occupation and present-day Guernsey and is likely to appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Betrayal, injustice and revenge echo down the years… 1940. Olive marries farmer Bill Falla. The Germans occupy Guernsey. All too soon … More Echoes of Time

The Custer Conspiracy

A week after uncovering the secret of what really happened at the Battle of the Little Bighorn, history professor Matt Conroy was lying in a morgue with the back of his head blown off. SFPD homicide inspector Tom McGuire, a long-time friend of Conroy’s, volunteers to assist the FBI in hunting down the killer. The … More The Custer Conspiracy