The fifth of The Guernsey Novels, Echoes of Time is a dual-time story set in the German Occupation and present-day Guernsey and is likely to appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Betrayal, injustice and revenge echo down the years…

1940. Olive marries farmer Bill Falla. The Germans occupy Guernsey.

All too soon Olive realises she has made a mistake. Her life changes when she meets Wolfgang, a German officer-however there’s a price to pay. . .

2010. Natalie Ogier returns to Guernsey to escape an abusive relationship – only to be plagued by odd happenings in her beautiful cottage on the site of a derelict and secluded farm. Disturbing dreams, disembodied voices and uncanny visions from the past. She becomes increasingly ill at ease as someone else’s past catches up with her own…

Her only immediate neighbour, Stuart, is the grandson of the original owners, Bill and Olive.

Thrown together in a bid to find out what happened to Olive, can they each survive the repercussions of the past and move on? 

Review: I’ve read a couple of the Guernsey Novels prior to this and while they all provide excellent reading with strong characters, fantastic plots along with plenty of twists and turns to keep you rooted, and of course, the idyllic Guernsey settings, Echoes of Time is by far my favourite to date. Anne Allen has pulled out all the stops with this one.

The story is full of suspense and mystery as Natalie’s new life in present time Guernsey echoes with that of Olive’s in the 1940’s German occupation of the island. The parallels between their lives cause a stir of mixed emotions of anger, distress, fear and hopelessness as they each strive and yet seemingly fail to escape a life filled with overwhelmingly abusive situations.

While dealing with her own grueling present day situation, Natalie’s new life is also fraught with paranormal occurrences in her new home and frightfully realistic dreams as the echoes of Olive’s past life attempt to reach out to the present in a plight of desperation.

Echoes of Time is superbly written and a most excellent read.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s